Filling in the missing pages …

Upon my return from Peru I opened more than a few texts and emails asking for the season finally of my trip to Peru, which I knew was coming. There was also a surprising number of people that reminded of the purpose of this blog, ” one woman’s tale of her adventures out of a backpack.” Seeing as how my life still resides in my backpack and I am currently on a plane to China, my story has yet to come to a close.
THANK YOU, to all of you who helped me to this realization and gave me such beautiful feedback. I am truly grateful.

So what happened upon my return?! Welp, I only gave myself three days to transition from plane to work… Maybe not the best idea but a body in motion stays in motion. I found myself getting dropped off in the heat of the Joshua Tree desert with a gang of dirt bags aka dear friends, some old and some new. In all honestly getting welcomed back to the US by the Booju, community was the best way to return. Never in my live have I worked with more passionate, goofy and fun loving group of people. Within twelve days of being in the country I had lead a full course, made a handful of new friends and entered into brand new territory with a passionate new man.
The month of April seems more like a dream than reality. I have not had a full blown spring in two years and in reality have never in my life really appreciated spring to its fullest. Between the Joshua tree wild flowers and the flowers I encountered in Folsom, Santa Cruz, Pinnacles, Camario, and Calabases, I fell in Love. It was invigorating and rooting to once again be sleeping outside under the stars were I feel most alive and most balanced. Even though April was filled with work it was also filled with friends and it really didn’t feel like work at all. Especially because after work was over we all stayed to play for a week in Joshua Tree. I have images of standing on the tops of rocks in Hidden Valley forever ingrained into my memory. There is something untouchable about the feeling of accomplishment and intimate trust you create with those that you climb with. There is also something untouchable about the time spent going through your college crap in the garage with your Dad, finding silly items like Melvin (a fake raccoon skin hat) and watching your Dad sport the hat the rest of the day. Dad I love you. Like I said, Spring was a dream, is a dream.
Leaving Joshua tree and saying “see you laters” to the ones I love was difficult. I felt like I had just started to find my rhythm and I was uprooting again.
I was off to Arkansas!

20140521-184101.jpg

20140521-184023.jpg

20140521-183948.jpg

20140521-183932.jpg

20140521-183851.jpg

20140521-183839.jpg

20140521-183806.jpg

20140521-183746.jpg

20140521-183727.jpg

20140521-183705.jpg

Leave a comment