Montezuma

Jan 26
Early Friday morning I caught the bus with the Mexi”cans,” And a few other volunteers that where leaving the farm. The morning was bitter sweet because I had to quickly say good bye to my travel companions Eva and Hadassa as they where heading south with Trista to work on another farm and I north to visit a sorority sister. I already miss there light hearted nature and ability to laugh at everything, including themselfs and especially at/with me. I spent two hours waiting for the bus to take me to Jaco. Once in Jaco I had no idea wher to catch the next leg of my trip I just new that it existed; a water taxi from Jaco to Montezuma. It was the best day of physical travel I have had all trip because I could communicate. I had to ask for directions three separate time but I finally found the spot. A woman named Daisy set up my fare and I knew I was in the right spot. I told her one of my favorite flowers is a daisy and we got to chatting. What a confidence boost it was to have her compliment my speaking, maybe she was just being kind, but all the same it felt good.
In reality, yesterday was not my smartest day of travel. After Daisy put me in a cab to the beach where I would pick up the taxi she instructed me to meet the man in front of the fruit stand. Turns out the man was wasted and possibly lived on the beach. The wasted man hotly helped me by yelling banter at the other boat men around. In the end when no one jumped up and took me to a boat he instructed me to sit and wait till 3 pm. I could have started stressing out but I didn’t. I decided to be patient and wait it out. If the boat didn’t come I could always take a taxi back to Jaco and try again in the morning. A young fellow named Bernie came and sat next to me and we started chatting, in Spanish. He works on one of the boats as a fisherman nod wants to practice English, problem is he doesn’t know any. Alas my taxi arrived! A very fine looking fellow named Xaviour was my Captin and a 15 year old named Marlin was the first mate.
I felt like royalty in a speed boat all to myself getting chief red an hour across the sea to Montezuma. It was too bad the mother and wind wheee so loud because it would have been fun to talk to these gents. On the boat I also met an internal cross road. I could stress the entice ride about the probability of these guys robbing my small back pack and leaving me in the sea as gator bate, but again I decided to stay calm and enjoy the scenery. Costa Rica isn’t called the RICH coast on accident.
My arrival to the small bohemian beach town of Montezuma was something out of a movie, I felt like a princess. We road the boat up to shore and both men helped me out into the shallow waters; no dock at all, great service right to thee beach! I had no clue where I was headed as my dear friend Whitney Martinez had made the reservations. Again not my smartest day of travel heading to a place where I had no confirmation of a boat taxi, hostel, or even that Whit was going to be on her way. I had faith though. I bought an over price and delicious cup of ice cream so I could use the shops internet. I got the name of the hostel Whit had made reservations at, corresponded with her to find out she would arrive later in the evening. Ahhh
The beach front hostel was ramshackled, hogpodged, and perfect. The place had mosaic tiled floors of what looked like whatever tile they could get there hands on at the time and the second story balcony was healed up by large tree trunks painted an obnoxious green. I went for a sunset swim on the rocky beach then waited for Whit to arrive in a maroon hammoc overlooking the ocean. Whit arrived around 9pm, we cruised into town for some grub after filling each other in on some basic life details we headed into town for some grub around 10. I consumed an entire pizza I a was so hungry and pulled a Roya and burnt my mouth on the first bite.
We woke up early this morning, filled our water bottles and headed for the waterfalls. I have finally met my match for girls that like to jump off of things into bodies of water. We where the first tourists at the falls, there where two me who had been camping there the night before. The falls are beautiful standing about 100 feet and surrounded by high junglous cliffs, and where we first arrived there was a rainbow reaching across the width of the falls. We spent about 3 hours climbing, jumping, back flipping, diving, and being silly at the first fall, then we found out about the second fall with and even high jump.
There where two options to get to the second fall, climb through the jungle root cover cliffs or climb up the fall, we opted for the former option. The scone jump was most definitely higher than the first with a three economy free fall standing about 45-50 feet! The climb back to the top of the fall was also pretty epic. Unfortunately our rope swing attempts where not as epic or gracefull as our fall jumping endeavors. I got a running start at flung myself into some rocks in front of about 20 spectators. Not sure what hurts more, my pride or my right hip, how embarrassing.
The rest of our day in Montezuma was centered around food or I should say gluttony. I had a traditional Costa Rican plate for lunch, pescado cascado, or fish with rice, beans, cabbage, avocado, grilled veggies, amd fried plantains. Whit had the largest chicken sandwich with avocado I have ever seen. We napped in the shade of some palm trees, swam, and then returned to town for dinner, nachos with netillo, or Costa Rican sour cream, and tostones, followed by two hot fudge brownies with a scoop each of homemade ice cream! Que RICO!
Our Sunday was packed with travel by land and by sea. During our travels we compared and contrasted cultural differences between child upbringing in the states and Costa Rica. Whit informs me that children who miss behave at school are not disciplined by their teachers but rather by their parents. Also for career day at school it’s totally normal for kids to bring machetes to class. It’s interesting the level of know responsibility and level of known usage these children have to feel comfortable bringing a machete to school. I feel the opposite is true in the US depending on where you live. In the states knifes are seen as weapons not as tools for everyday use purposes, I.e. Machete= briefcase. I am not for children bringing kinds or weapons of any sort to school I am rather wondering what it would be like for children in the US to have a better understanding of these sorts of items, how they are responsibly used and maybe being allowed the experience at using one so they know. Maybe then knifes and such would half less of a mystery factor therefore less of a rebellious connotation surrounding them? Growing up I remember my dad teaching me how to use a bee bee gun and explaining how to shoot for fun responsibly…at cans. It was great fun.
I said see ya late to Whit after an eternity of sitting on a ferry and before that we had been on a bus that made us get off at one point because of a semi broken down in the middle of an uphill one and a half lane highway. My bus ride to Jaco was no better. Another semi had collided head on with a car at the entrance to another one and a half lane (two lane by Costa Rican standards) bridge. The buss driver was a boss! He wove through lanes of traffic with much more efficiency than any Southern California driver with road raged manic could have. My hostel in Jaco was one of the shittier places I have ever stayed but there was a pool and it was a block away from the beach, compromises must be made. I secured my things a headed for sunset yoga on the beach. I was having a blast until the lerkers started complementing my moves… I digress about Jaco and the most exquisite sunset I have seen thus far on my adventure.
The low tide left a film of water for the clouds above to reflect as the sun blazed a schmeering of bronzen orange,yellow and magenta. Happy hour suchi and dulce de leche gelato warped up my evening. One more encounter to mention, the Irish guy I met at the hostel. He just couldn’t seem to wrap his head around the idea of paying to work on a farm in another country. I attempted to explain the joy and fulfillment I get from working towards a common goal with like minded Eco tourist. Seeing as how his entire vacation has consisted of visits to the bar and beach recoveries the next day he did not understand….

20140131-175033.jpg

20140131-175047.jpg

20140131-175101.jpg

20140131-175113.jpg

20140131-175124.jpg

20140131-175144.jpg

20140131-175157.jpg

20140131-175233.jpg

20140131-175247.jpg

20140131-175301.jpg

20140131-175311.jpg

20140131-175325.jpg

20140131-175337.jpg

20140131-175354.jpg

20140131-175409.jpg

20140131-175433.jpg

20140131-175446.jpg

20140131-175505.jpg

Leave a comment