Costa Rica

Getting on the plane to San Jose I road the wave of yesterday’s language barrier frustrations and to add to the mix I had a hell of a day with the Colone. I am learning to keep my stress level down while trying to speak Spanish so that I can keep my mind clear, it’s a slow process.
I sat next to a lovely couple that was very patient with me and wanted to converse in English. So I spoke Spanish and the husband responded in English. He threw me off with one of his questions. He wanted to know what Americans thought about Mexico… A very broad spectrum questions that I had a hard time responding to. I finally told him that most of the people I know believe Mexico is very dangerous and that it’s not safe to travel in the country, however, I did not experience this. I also told him that some California’s
Get upset about Mexicans immigrating to the US and taking jobs away from citizens, there after I told him that this idea was silly because the majority of California’s wouldn’t work the jobs that the Mexican immigrants where taking. I realize this is a generalization and that it’s getting a bit political but this is just my opinion. He is an economist that sees Mexico’s relationship with the US as a one of commerce and trade; son amigos.
The reality of my travels to Costa Rica hit me as I watched the countless number of tin roofs and shacks wiz by. I
Consulted a local about the bus system and then headed for the money machine while I waited for my bag. The colones come in increments of thousands. $25 us=$12,500 colones. When 2,000 was staring me in the face from the ATM I freaked. Thoughts of “what if it pulls 2 grand out of my account in US dollars” rolled through my head. AH! I should have guessed that something was up when I went to break one of the 1,000 bills at teller and the woman stared at me funny. Luckily I pulled out enough money for the bus ride into the city. I was also lucky enough to become acquainted with Joel. A woman from France who spoke Spanish and was kind enough to kick it with me. We had one more join our immigrant crew, a German fellow named Max. We all ended up staying at the same hostel that night.
Joel was a bit quiet. But she was a sharp traveler. I took notes from her and went along with her to check out her bus stop which was about a mile away. I don’t think she minded the company as San Jose was a very busy city and the woman at he hostel suggest that we walk with friends. Joel had been traveling on her own and reminded me of myself after getting off the Kalalau trail. She was a but introverted, or more like in a state of constant meditation. It was calming to be around her. She wasn’t really interested in me or what I was doing but she wasn’t really interested in making long term connections so she just left our experience as one of mutual connectedness for the sake of safety. I had no quams. Max and I found a hole in the wall place for dinner but the Costa Rican food doesn’t compare to Mexican food one bit.
After returning to the hostel I walked into my dorm and found Eva and Handassa laughing about the amount of luggage they brought, 3 cases each! They had come with e dream to teach English to children somewhere on the beach and wheeee not satisfied when the company they had been talking to wanted them to teach English to adults in the city. They needed direction so I invited them to come with me to the farm, and so our adventures began.
It’s been about two days since I met Eva and Handassa. Each party has agreed that the other entered their lives at an opportune time. Thank you Universe. These girls have a fabulous sense of humor and are empowered and ambitious to make a difference in their community. These two grew up in Southern Texas. Their parents are Mexican American and their upbringing has been that of a traditional Latino family. Up until their trips to Costa Rica ( this is their second time coming and they have no return ticket) they have not gotten away from their home city. Now, they struggle to gain acceptance from their parents. This acceptance is not coming easily as the mind set of their family is rooted in tradition. Tradition and culture is something I think many American family’s lack yet opposition and resistance to change is dangerous. Eva and Handassa see a future for themselves outside of getting married for the sake of being married and having children right away because their biological clocks are ticking. These girls are so passionate, kind hearted and patient. They have started a blog called Latino Blend so as to be beckons of light for other Latino women in their community that might be in a similar situation. Though they take daily resistance from their families through various social medias they respectfully stay strong. I really want one of their shirts 🙂

One thought on “Costa Rica”

Leave a comment