Oh what a night!

The last day in Acapulco was a bit of a blur. Kasey and I went out to see what the night life is all about. It was the first time I had left the hotel through the front door since I had arrived. The streets where packed with people! Horse drawn buggies clopped down e street covered in colorful balloons and flashing lights. It was a miracle that the horses didn’t spook with the lines of traffic wzzing past them. I played peekaboo with a little girl in a stroller whilst in line for a “mobile marg.” after making the kid laugh pretty hard the grandma took her away from me…oops. It was astonishing to see the number of children being dragged out to the bars, not cool mom and dad! It was also interesting to see that most of he women our age where half clothed and shakin’ it at the bar fronts doing their form of solicitation. The men our age where soliciting themselves on the street throwing fliers in our face for their establishment. We passed by a quinciner (sp?) with the new woman of the evening in a sparkly silver corset with pink seaming and a white tool skirt. She preformed a routine I would liken to an early backstreet boy dance with two of her amigos. We walked past Tacos and Beer, a recommended restaurant by my taxi driver. What a sight! It was a taco flee market. Huge pyramids of meat rotiseried in front of an open flame while the taco masters sliced paper thin sheets if meat onto fresh tortillas at an alarming speed. It was tantalizing and grotesque all at the same time.
Kasey and I participated in a balloon contest that consisted of everyone in the bar receiving a balloon animal balloon, grouping up to make new friends, and creating the most elaborate balloon creation that could reach above the top of the projection screen. What a laugh. As for the rest of the night I plead the fifth.

I spent my last day in Acapulco sleeping in the shade on the beach and still managed to get three shades darker; yes mom and Margaret I was wearing loads of sun screen. It was a good thing I double check my ticket for my flight to Mexico City because I thought it was in the evening and turns out it was for the morning!

Leave a comment